Is there a reasonable explanation about those XSS 'bottleneck' critics from devs?

Personally, as a developer myself (though just working on smaller games right now), I don’t get the point of their claims.

First of all, we all know that Series S is just a 1080P-1440P machine, targeting at 60FPS for most games. From a perspective of resolution scaling, 8GB of 224GB/s memory for 1080P@60Hz gaming seems to be perfectly fine. There simply shouldn’t be anything bothering the developers at all. And we’re not even counting SFS here.

FYI:

4K is 2.25x of 1440P and 4x of 1080P;

1440P is 1.78x of 1080P;

XSX has 560 GB/s, 10GB space targeted for rendering;

XSS has 224GB/s, 8GB space targeted for rendering;

RTX 3070 and 2080 has 8GB VRAM, running at 448GB/s

Other than assets, generally things like game engine programs don’t take a lot of space

So, dear friends, is there any possible reason, that a 1080P machine with such a spec cannot handle a next gen?

What’s the most unexplainable thing to me is that it’s such a basic common sense, but even some real industry veterans that I do respect a lot can fall for misconceptions. I try to understand their comments but I just can’t. Maybe they were not as informed about XSS as us, or maybe they were just making assumptions based on their former experiences without actual calculating?

I don’t want to judge them as biased or other negative things… I’m just too curious about the truth.

4 Likes

It’s probably good to have all this bottleneck talk in one thread . This one.

Yeah, I don’t get it either. Like some have said here, it could be that some devs are working with the XSS and they talk with praise about it, and those that are not yet working with it (Infinity Ward for example ) share their concerns.

While I don’t believe that this is some kind of attack on Xbox, I do find it odd. I can’t deny that universal praise would have been best, but there are probably reasons why that’s not the case yet.

2 Likes