Path to becoming a game coder!(?)

I’ve decided it’s time for a career change. I work in finance as a administrator for retirement plans. It’s not a bad gig but it’s not something I want to do long term.

I’ve been looking into software engineering and IT in general the last few years, I finally decided to bite the bullet and go for it after talking about it for two years now.

I signed up at General Assembly and am scheduled to start their Software Engineering 6 month boot camp. It’s going to be hard with working full time and having to young kids but I feel like in the long run I’ll be happier.

With that said, a part of me really wants to become a coder for a gaming studio. I would love to work on games.

I guess the question to my XboxEra brothers and sisters, is software engineering the right path to get into coding for gaming? With that said, will developers give me a shot after a 6 month boot camp?

4 Likes

I’m not in game development so you can take what I say with a grain of salt. I have been in software for 18 years and some of that has been spent doing plenty of interviews and hiring.

I think gaming is a pretty specific domain and just knowing how to program doesn’t mean you can make games. I think you’ll want to take what you learn and apply it to game development on your own and actually gain experience building games. I gotta imagine entry levels going into game development have projects that demonstrate their knowledge.

FWIW I think that’s the case for moving into software development from another career in general. Just some classes isn’t enough, I typically expect someone that is playing catch up to have more to show.

Again, just my view. I’ve only worked at one company and it’s a huge one. Might not be the same everywhere.

5 Likes