Digital Foundry: What's The Best SSD Option For Back Compat Xbox Games?

SATA SSD looks like to be a perfect solution for backward compatible games on S&X

2 Likes

Seems like a great watch, thanks for the link! @Staffy pinging you because this seems to tie into your interests.

Edit: I really enjoy how approachable they made this. Gonna wait to see how next-gen games perform with the advantages of the XVA but for now it seems like we have some great alternatives for cheaper but still fast storage for BC titles.

Amazon links to the drives he’s using I think:

Seagate Backup Plus 5TB External HDD

2.5" Samsung SSD (extremely expensive)

Sata to USB connector

Samsung PM961 NVMe

ASUS Strix Arion Enclosure (not sure about this one)

I am NOT GOOD at this stuff, please correct me if I’m wrong and don’t buy the thousand dollar Samsung drive I listed lol

2 Likes

Awesome my friend, I appreciate this!

1 Like

I went ahead and ordered a samsung 870 1TB. I’ve been using an older samsung ssd on my xbone x, but its 500gb. I was very happy to see the huge difference of the same SSD between xbone x and series x on the DF video. So I guess its “backward compatible games storage solved” for me :slight_smile:

I’ll still keep my current 6tb external HDDs that I also have on xbone x right now, but it will be more of a cold storage option than anything else.

1 Like

Yeah, I’m not exactly regretting my big mechanical drive but I’m definitely curious about the Sabrent USB to SATA connector he used . Might be a good path to take if the official Seagate expansion doesn’t have a significant advantage over the rest in Series X games.

afaik usb will not allow you to run series x games from it. its for b/c only and cold storage.

for our next gen games and options, I guess we will have to wait after launch to see how it goes. microsoft has said that more SSD options that plug in the back of the console will come.