Ni No Kuni : I need some help with this

Hi all,

So I’ve started with NNK earlier this week and I have 9 hours into it now. Location is the desert. I noticed early on how easily I died and I don’t know, I just don’t have the patience nowadays anymore and so I have no problem putting difficulty at easy and still on easy I find it not easy at all, lmao.

I am not new to JRPGs, but I am pretty new to combat systems like this. As in menu based. Earlier on in the game I was told that monsters have weakness, the signs show it. But during combat, can I check on the fly what weakness the current enemies have? Also, I often am not sure whether to use Oliver or the girl, or the familiars, and the type of familiar. I noticed how incredibly fast Sid gets killed, it’s crazy.

Also, in real-time combat I defend when I see enemies attack, but in turn-based or menu based combat like this I am not entirely sure when I should defend and thus I pretty much always go for attack and only defend during boss fights when they are about to go mental. I also noticed that the game doesn’t tell you if a certain quest/enemy is too high level for you. For example there is this bounty hunt enemy and it’s insane the amount of damage he did to Oliver and everyone.

I hope I will not drop this game, so far so good. My friend however did drop the game, he told me about a wolf boss in a ice area and he was not able to kill it. But, we’ll see.

1 Like

I’m with you. Its the most obtuse and unwieldy combat system in a JRPG i ever played. I put it on easy and just swap the familiars in battle. So far this is enough but i think i’m not as far as you in the game.

Sorry for being no help :frowning:

1 Like

Well, it’s good to know at least that I’m not the only one with this opinion on the combat. :slight_smile:

There is a lot to take in too. I just had the game telling me that when you swap around familiars, to bear in mind that each ally is better suited to handling creatures of certain genuses.