Is it just me or is Destiny 2's mission structure completed garbage?

I played little of Destiny 1 Taken King but I don’t remember it being anywhere near as bad as Destiny 2. I recently started playing the free to play version hoping that it could sell me on the full game but GOOD LORD I have no idea what’s going on, what to do, the map is cumbersome, the waypoints are worthless but most of all there’s never a story structure or indicator on what you’re suppose to do. All I did so far was get my Titan up to 770, then started doing strikes, timed events etc but I wanted to actually do story missions even if the story isn’t that great.

I get that since going free to play, Destiny 2 now has A LOT of content since we’re 2 expansions in with a 3rd one coming. I get the appeal of the game, that loot grind is addicting although I’m not willing to stomach a 30 FPS shooter especially after binging on APEX. Maybe I’ll check it out again when it hits the Series X with the 60 FPS patch but I really hope they fix this mission structure and make it easier to at least follow the main story.

3 Likes

I’m with you. I can’t work out how to play it and I’ve googled for guides and stuff but none I’ve found are low-level enough.

It shouldn’t be this difficult to work out what I’m actually meant to do. I feel like a well written one page guide would be enough to get me started.

2 Likes

Try this

There are five campaigns total available in Destiny 2 right now. Three are totally free and available for everyone (Red War, Curse of Osiris, and Warmind) while the final two are locked behind DLC purchases. Whether you have access or not, I’ll explain how to start all the campaigns with the guide below. Even veterans might not know how to access the standard campaign after returning. It’s sort of hidden!