13th New York Game Awards

Congratulations to Hi Fi Rush for winning the Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game at the 13th New York Game Awards!

The New York Game Awards is an annual award show produced by the nonprofit New York Videogame Critics Circle to recognize outstanding achievement in video games. The New York Videogame Critics Circle’s goals are to promote education within the worlds of video game writing and journalism in the New York City area.

The New York Game Awards took place at the SVA Theatre on January 23, 2024 to celebrate one of the best years in gaming! Xbox games were nominated in multiple awards, with Hi Fi Rush and Starfield nominated for the Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year, as well as nominations for Best Music, Best Writing and Best World.

Here are the nominees for the 2024 NY Game Awards (]winners in red)

Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year

  • Alan Wake II

  • Armored Core VI: Fires of Rubicon

  • Baldur’s Gate 3

  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty

  • Hi-Fi Rush

  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom

  • Marvel’s Spider-Man 2

  • Starfield

Off Broadway Award for Best Indie Game

  • A Space for the Unbound

  • Chants of Sennaar

  • El Paso Elsewhere

  • Jusant

  • Pizza Tower

  • Sea of Stars

  • The Talos Principle II

  • Viewfinder

Herman Melville Award for Best Writing in a Game

  • Alan Wake II

  • Baldur’s Gate 3

  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty

  • Starfield

  • Tchia

  • Thirsty Suitors

Statue of Liberty Award for Best World

  • Alan Wake II

  • Baldur’s Gate 3

  • Chants of Sennaar

  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty

  • Final Fantasy XVI

  • Marvel’s Spider-Man 2

  • Starfield

Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game

  • Alan Wake II

  • Baldur’s Gate 3

  • Final Fantasy XVI

  • Hi-Fi Rush

  • Tchia

  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom

Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game

  • Amelia Tyler as The Narrator in Baldur’s Gate 3

  • Ben Starr as Clive Rosfield in Final Fantasy XVI

  • Elizabeth Saydah as Riley in Oxenfree II: Lost Signals

  • Idris Elba as Solomon Reed in Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty

  • Melanie Liburd as Saga Anderson in Alan Wake II

  • Neil Newbon as Astarion in Baldur’s Gate 3

Coney Island Dreamland Award for Best AR/VR Game

  • Asgard’s Wrath 2

  • Assassin’s Creed Nexus VR

  • Body of Mine

  • Horizon Call of the Mountain

  • Humanity

  • We Are One

Central Park Children’s Zoo Award for Best Kids Game

  • Disney Illusion Island

  • Nickelodeon All-Star Brawl 2

  • Pikmin 4

  • Super Mario Bros Wonders

  • Tchia

  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom

A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game

  • Hello Kitty Island Adventure

  • Honkai: Star Rail

  • Kimono Cats

  • Laya’s Horizon

  • Monster Hunter Now

  • Terra Nil

Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake

  • Dead Space

  • Ghost Trick: Phantom Detective

  • Metroid Prime Remastered

  • Resident Evil 4

  • Star Ocean: The Second Story

  • Super Mario RPG

Joltin’ Joe Award for Best Esports Player of the Year

  • Alexis “Zen” Bernier (Team Vitality) - Rocket League

  • Arslan “Arslan Ash” Siddique (Twisted Minds/Red Bull eSports) - Tekken 7

  • Choi “Zeus” Woo-je (T1) - League of Legends

  • Lee “Faker” Sang-Hyeok (T1) - League of Legends

  • Mathieu “ZywOo” Herbaut (Team Vitality) - Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

  • Paco “HyDra” Rusiewiez (New York Subliners) - Call of Duty

Chumley’s Speakeasy Award for Best Hidden Gem

  • 9 Years of Shadow

  • American Arcadia

  • Conrad Stevenson’s Paranormal P.I.

  • Outer Terror

  • Slay the Princess

  • Videoverse

NYC GWB Award for Best DLC

  • Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty

  • Dead Cells: Return to Castlevania

  • God of War Ragnarök: Valhalla

  • Horizon Forbidden West: Burning Shores

  • Resident Evil 4: Separate Ways

  • Vampire Survivors: Coop Mode

Knickerbocker Award for Best Games Journalism

  • Andrea Long Chu, Vulture

  • Blessing Adeoya Jr., Kinda Funny Games

  • Brendan Sinclair, GamesIndustry.biz

  • Ed Smith, PCGamesN/Bullet Points Monthly

  • Hanif Abdurraqib, The Paris Review

  • Nicole Carpenter, Polygon

  • Reid McCarter, Bullet Points Monthly

Andrew Yoon Legend Award Recipient

  • Neil Druckmann, studio head of Naughty Dog